Personal Philosophy of Education

When I first think of my personal philosophy of education, the first idea that comes to my mind is power. I’m not talking about being on a power trip over students. What I’m thinking about is guiding students to access and harness their own power. How do they empower themselves? How can they empower themselves? My impression of the majority of my students is that they don’t know how easy they have it related to many other children their age in the rest of the world. I also think they don’t understand how hard they have it when considering the effects of deployment on the military families that make up our school’s communities. To be continued…

~ by Craig Brewer on May 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
