Informational Literacy Self Assessment

Here are four standards provided by CityU related to informational literacy, which is right up my alley as a newly annointed librarian. The librarians in my school district are currently using informational literacy standards that they created last year when we collaborate for professional development.

Number 1: Recognize when information is required and determine the extent of information needed.

Where am I? I think that so long as I have some background with the topic, I can identify concepts related to the topic, I can find sufficient resources, and can articulate the types of information that would be useful. I would say that I fit mostly in the proficient range here.

What do I need to work on? I do feel I could work on identifying an effective and clear research question.

2. Access needed information effectively and efficiently.

Where am I? I don’t see too much difference between proficient and advanced, other than designing a research plan. I feel proficient at finding access to information, but I don’t necessarily have an executable plan. It’s usually more of a consistent roadmap that I usually follow.

What do I need to work on? I could improve on the use of larger search engines in a more efficient manner. I have gotten stuck trying to look up something where it feels like I’m searching for a needle in a haystack. I don’t know all the tools to exclude words in a search, or to search for a specific phrase. I do have a lot of experience, however.

3. Evaluate information and its sources critically.

Where am I? I feel I am somewhere between advanced and proficient here. I am pretty critical about where I get my information for everyday life and news, and am aware that every news provider has some sort of bias. Some just wear it a little stronger than others. I can tell pretty quickly whether an article is going to be of much use to prove my point, whether it lacks in credibility, relevance, or accuracy.

What do I need to work on? I think the area I struggle with the most here is recognizing the authority of the author of a selected text or article. It helps to know what context the author is writing the text in. Scholarly journals generally get a pass, but otherwise, I’m wondering for what purpose is this person writing this.

4. Use information effectively.

Where am I? I feel I am proficient in this area. I do like to have a big picture idea set in my mind of how the parts of the research paper will fit together before I truly start constructing the paper. I feel pretty confident in my ability to communicate my findings in a clear yet succinct manner.

What do I need to work on? I do struggle with time. I feel like I take forever sometimes to revise a sentence so that it clearly says what I am intending.

~ by Craig Brewer on November 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
